Digital Ocean Reviews By Real Users and Our Expert [2018]

8.1
Overall Score

Based On 11 Reviews

  • Reliability
    8.2/10
  • Uptime
    7.7/10
  • Support
    7.9/10
  • Pricing
    8.4/10
  • Features
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    0
  • Uptime
    0
  • Customer Support
    0
  • Pricing
    0
  • Features
    0

Do you want to Recommend this Hosting to other?

Digital Ocean User Reviews

Well informed

| Service Used: Shared Hosting | Last Hosting:

The hosting is fast and reliable which is the best part of this hosting. Another thing is that this hosting site provides all the valuable information beforehand with which the customer does not face many problems.

Good Experience

| Service Used: VPS Hosting | Last Hosting:

Digital ocean is one of the service which you can afford easily and is best hosting service in market at present.Uptime of the website is good so this can take good care of your business.

Good web host with fantastic features

| Service Used: VPS Hosting | Last Hosting:

Digital Ocean is a promising web hosting company. If you are looking for a user-friendly web host, then Digital Ocean is a great choice. The interface is simple and cPanel is quite helpful. The whole staff is supportive in nature and understanding. Overall, Digital Ocean is a decent hosting provider.

Amazing VPS Hosting

| Service Used: VPS Hosting | Last Hosting:

VPS plans for Digital Ocean are quite amazing. You can afford these plans easily and get an access to some of the best features in today's date. Also, the uptime is quite good that you can rely on this hosting provider to take care of your websites.

WORST Experience Ever

| Service Used: none | Last Hosting:

I would never recommend Digital Ocean for the hosting services to anyone. My site is always facing a downtime and it had lost my business a lot of money. Services provided by them aren't worth the money you are spending. Terrible support team who are always ignoring the calls and emails.

Don’t know why my account was banned

| Service Used: | Last Hosting:

Everything was going right. I was kind of loving their hosting services but suddenly, while moving my mail server, they didn't allow me to enter log into my account without a verification email. Their support just keeps saying that they did this for security reasons but I've to waste my time every time I try to log into my account, tough times.

Never recommend to others

| Service Used: none | Last Hosting:

This hosting is not good for me.This company is very costly than other company.The server of this hosting can never handle huge traffic on site. I start using it on a WordPress site but server response is not good. The downtime and cache problem is quite big in this.

Superb web hosting company

| Service Used: none | Last Hosting:

I am using Digitalocean hosting from 3 years. Their standard web hosting plan for $5 is affordable. My site have good traffic for all time & this hosting handle all traffic without downtime.Digitalocean has a way to optimize the site for world wide visitors.

Best Cloud Hosting at Reasonable price

| Service Used: Cloud Hosting | Last Hosting: Digital Ocean

I am using DO since last 6 month.The best thing about Digital Ocean Hosting is that your site will not Down if there is any sudden hike in Traffic.Just an extra amount you need to pay for resources that you consume. But Setting up domain on DO is little bit difficult as you might need some external support if you are not from technical background. In My Experience, A big thumbs up for Digital Ocean Hosting (y)

Best Cloud hosting

| Service Used: Cloud Hosting | Last Hosting:

I have use it in my 15 sites and this is only hosting that handle high traffic on my sites. All time my site have good traffic.I recommend it others too.

12
8.6
Expert Rating
  • Reliability
    9/10
  • Uptime
    8.5/10
  • Support
    8/10
  • Pricing
    8.5/10
  • Features
    9/10
Written By: SHP Expert

Digital Ocean Expert Review & Rating


As DigitalOcean is comparatively new in the Cloud Hosting market, you can get some great features at a low price. However, there are certain disadvantages which can act against it, but they can improve a lot in these departments. “More experience leads to many improvements.”

As of now, DigitalOcean is one of the best cloud hosting options considering their price and the benefits attached to it. For a cheap option, sign up for DigitalOcean without having any second thoughts. Its custom control panel and bandwidth features are impressive. Flexible API adds more value to their ease of use section. We recommend it to users who want to upgrade from shared hosting to a cheap and reliable cloud hosting.

Cloud Hosting Review Rating

9.5/10


Price: $5.00/Month

Visit Digital Ocean

DigitalOcean’s Cloud Hosting advertises great features at a low variable price. Initially, their 55-Second Server Deployment avails users to gain root access in only 55 seconds. SSD Performance of their servers is good enough. They have high storage of around 16TB which means they will never fall short of storing website data. They usually prefer to refer their servers as droplets, so don’t be confused when you see the word droplet on their website.

DigitalOcean has a lightning fast network to ensure high uptime. You can analyze the performance of your cloud and optimize it by paying additional costs. It also has pre-built open source applications, but it does not support mobile applications. KVM and Flexible API help in increasing their value as a cloud hosting service. With a convenient control panel and amazing features, DigitalOcean is one of the best value for money options.

Plans are differentiated by the monthly and hourly charge to offer better insights to customers. Clients know exactly what they are signing up for. You can upgrade plans as per your requirement. Each upgrade adds extra core, RAM, SSD Disk Space, Bandwidth Storage and other needy features. Check out their initial plans:

Why should you opt for DigitalOcean Cloud Hosting Services?

  • Value for Money: You can get great features at a relatively lower price.
  • High Uptime: Their uptime commitment is of 99.99% which is incredible at this price.
  • KVM: This feature makes Linux servers run relatively fast.
  • Support: They have decent support which enables clients to remove their issues timely.
  • SSD: SSD is included in every cloud.
  • Great Features: Each plan of DigitalOcean has some amazing features at a very low price.
  • High Storage: You can get up to 16TB storage for your website.

Pros

  1. Flexible API
  2. Fantastic Features
  3. Value for Money option
  4. High Uptime

Cons

  1. Average Support
  2. Slow Server Issue
8

Reliability

DigitalOcean ensures stable cloud performance with its security features. It’s one of the newest web hosting services around. However, that does not account for their reliability as their support tries its best to curb all kinds of issues. Tier-1 Networks and 10-Gig-E Connections acquire the department of taking care of capacity of clouds. Also, the nightly server backups protect data from getting lost.
9

Uptime

DigitalOcean is relatively new in this business, but this fact has not affected its uptime guarantee. You will get a market standard good old 99.99% uptime commitment from DigitalOcean. Additionally, their stability of their clouds is maintained throughout the day to prevent downtime. Thus, you can safely assume that their uptime rate will never go down.
9

Support

One of the unique strategy used by DigitalOcean includes not giving out phone numbers to customers. Instead, clients are allowed to approach with via e-mail and live chats. Their support is superb considering the stability of their clouds is maintained due to monitoring of cloud servers. They also have a company blog forum with a lot of articles and tutorials to help customers. However, unclear support time degrades the quality of their Support team.
7.5

Pricing

DigitalOcean’s Cloud Hosting Services are relatively cheaper compared to other hosting services. They have divided plans by the monthly and hourly charge which gives customers a thorough outlook of what they are signing up for. It is one of the most efficient options for people who want to try out their luck in Cloud Hosting. You can upgrade to Cloud Hosting with ease, and at this price, it will be worth it.
8.5

Features

If you are looking for a value for money cloud hosting service, then look no further ahead. You won't get better features at this price anywhere else. Their plans differentiate accordingly as per features. The least Disk Space offered by DigitalOcean is 20GB whereas the highest is 960GB. DigitalOcean’s additional features include Hex Core Racks, RAID SSD, Dedicated ECC RAM, 55-Second Server Deployment, Tier-1 Network, KVM and their own Control Panel.

About Digital Ocean

DigitalOcean is an American Cloud Hosting service provider who is based in New York. They have many data centres around the world. The web hosting company was founded in 2011 by Moisey Uretsky, Ben Uretsky, Jeff Carr, Alec Hartman and Mitch Wainer. It has limited its services to Cloud Hosting with the aim of improving Cloud Hosting services only. In 2013, DigitalOcean became one of the first web hosting companies to offer SSD-based virtual machines. It saw a rapid increase in customers as in 2015 DigitalOcean became the second largest hosting provider in the world. Their pricing model has been appreciated a lot as they are hailed as one of the best value for money options in the web hosting market.

Digital Ocean Review Badge