X

HostGator Reviews By Real Users and Our Expert [2018]

6.1
Overall Score

Based On 52 Reviews

  • Reliability
    6/10
  • Uptime
    6.5/10
  • Support
    5.6/10
  • Pricing
    6.3/10
  • Features
    6.2/10
  • Reliability
    0
  • Uptime
    0
  • Customer Support
    0
  • Pricing
    0
  • Features
    0

Do you want to Recommend this Hosting to other?

HostGator User Reviews

Absolute best

| Service Used: Shared Hosting | Last Hosting:

Hostgator is the perfect hosting company for me and safe to say that it is the best when it comes to overall service. Too happy to be with them.

Slow At Everything

| Service Used: Cloud Hosting | Last Hosting:

If you host your website with HostGator, your website will be extremely slow. I have just HTML pages and still, they take forever. I ask them to move me to the cloud from WordPress as it is so slow to load, their answer is to sign up for a new plan and forget about the money you paid. I paid for 36 months and you sell me a bad product and now you want me to pay again for the same thing. Can't believe these people. On top of that, the customer support (online chat) wait is approximately 30 minutes and they take 5 minutes for every question.

Had To File a Lawsuit

| Service Used: VPS Hosting | Last Hosting:

Hostgator is truly the worst experience I have ever had. They are slow and stupid. If you have an existing domain, don't expect any result. They cannot deliver your needs. I had to threaten a lawsuit to get a refund, which they say they will, but I have yet to see it.

Glad I Left

| Service Used: Shared Hosting | Last Hosting:

I use to be a hostgator customer until recently. They use to be a really good hosting company but within the past 2-3 years I have been noticing alot of changes. My sites have been loading slower, their customer support has gone d own tremendously over the past few years and they were starting to come off as scam artist. SO glad I left the awful company.

Perfect

| Service Used: Dedicated Hosting | Last Hosting:

Can I give more that 5 stars?? Well, these guys are amazing. I have been their customer since 2011 and they are just awesome, i like their team of customer service and technical department. keep it up Hostgator, i will never change you. :)

Cloud Hosting Not Good Enough

| Service Used: Cloud Hosting | Last Hosting:

As a startup about to launch in May, I chose to use Hostgator largely due to reviews on the web and pricing. However, if you are building a Magento 2 site I cannot recommend HG at all for the following reasons: * The Magento 1 cl ick install is not seamless and not optimised. * The site was slow (even when a base install). Many times I couldn't even get in to admin it was so slow. Further I would constantly get "site not found" page for about 1-2 secs when loading the main site. Positives are price (but that is kind of useless if site is slow) and support (who were always quick to help).

Misleading Prices

| Service Used: Shared Hosting | Last Hosting:

Hostgator misleads customers by publishing prices on their homepage which do not correspond by far to what you actually end up paying. I have the most basic hosting package and now pay a total of 129 USD per year or 10,75 USD per month without possibility of downgrading. If you look at the price for this package on the home page you will see that it is 2,64 USD per month.

Very Happy

| Service Used: Dedicated Hosting | Last Hosting:

For me, HostGator has just been amazing. I have been using their dedicated servers for over half a year now and they have never disappointed me. I am happy with the server speed and uptime.

Do Not Expect Help

| Service Used: Cloud Hosting | Last Hosting:

Up until Hostgator was sold to EIG, everything was OK! But then, things started to go downhill... Support is the worst support you could ever hope for! Your ticket will be replied (if you're lucky) the next 3 to 4 days. I had a ticket replied 3 weeks later.

Atrocious Experience

| Service Used: Cloud Hosting | Last Hosting:

I switched to HostGator from my previous hosting company in November 2017 and my experience with them so far has been atrocious. I will try to migrate once more and this time I will make sure to properly investigate the company.

8.6
Expert Rating
  • Reliability
    9/10
  • Uptime
    8.5/10
  • Support
    8/10
  • Pricing
    8.5/10
  • Features
    9/10
Written By: SHP Expert

HostGator Expert Review & Rating


HostGator has established itself as a credible Hosting service over the course of several years. We recommend it for customers who want to keep things simple. You can also advance your range by opting for VPS or Dedicated Hosting. Their customer support is impressive. The help can be useful for novice users who are having a hard time setting up their website.

The features, as well as the pricing, is never going to disappoint you. Staying on the cruise of Award winning services of HostGator, you’ll never sink. In fact, you can only rise with HostGator.

Overall Rating

8.3/10


Price: $3.96/mo*

Visit HostGator

HostGator has been in the business for several years now. They have built their reputation as one of the most reliable Hosting services. Their servers are maintained by expert personnel. However, still, they are mostly known for their Shared Hosting services. Additionally, the reason for this would be the free features they offer with each plan. To be honest, the features of Shared Hosting plans are better than many other Hosting service providers.

The only concern regarding their plans is their cost. HostGator Hosting plans are relatively costlier. Though, the features are on the mark. It may go out of the budget, but it’s worth it to sign up for their plans. Customization in HostGator is always on the high. They are flexible. The Hosting services provided by HostGator are Shared Hosting, Cloud Hosting, Dedicated Hosting, VPS Hosting.

The reliability of HostGator cannot be questioned due to their 45-day money back guarantee policy.If you face any issue, you can go straight back at them, and they’ll assist you with the proceedings. Noteworthy benefits of HostGator Hosting services include unlimited disk space and email accounts. The unmetered bandwidth adds up some more spice in the list. You can free transfer domain on HostGator without any extra fee too.

Servers are separated for Windows and Linux users for Shared and Dedicated Hosting services. The servers support most of the programming languages. They claim that their live support is one of the best. The tutorials and expert help can help novice users go through the processes and distinct issues. However, there were some late replies which may incline us to think otherwise. Barring minor issues, they are an excellent choice to opt for Hosting services.

Shared Hosting Rating

9.2/10


Price: $3.96/mo*

Visit HostGator

HostGator offers two separate Hosting services depending on the operating system: Windows and Linux. Unvaried of the plans of other operating system, users get access to unlimited Disk Space, Transfer Bandwidth and Email Accounts. Many freebies are attached with each plan. Other free features include free domain transfer and a certain amount of scripts.

HostGator Shared Hosting Services for Windows include latest Plesk Control Panel for operation. Usage of the control panel can help in staying up to date with website statistics. Other tools provided are raw log manager and Webalizer. The system also includes applications such as instant shopping carts, blogs and forums. The pack has the inclusion of unlimited Microsoft SQL, access database, programming modules and scheduled tasks option. Uptime rate is 99.9%.

HostGator Shared Hosting Plans of HostGator has certain limitations to domains. However, their application Hosting and green web Hosting may attract a lot of visitors. As of now, they offer two plans for Windows users. Check them out:

HostGator Shared Hosting Services for Linux include latest cPanel with various similar features like the plans for Windows. Additional tools awarded can be used to maintain error logs. The names of other tools include a Hotlink Protection, IP Deny Manager and Redirect URLs. Also, the plans offer unlimited MySQL databases with phpMyAdmin Access. It supports various programming languages as well. Uptime rate is 99.9%.

Unlike the domain limitation in Windows plans, Shared Hosting services for Linux have plans with unlimited domains. Also, three plans are provided to users with varying features. Check them out:

Why Should You Opt for HostGator Shared Hosting Services?

  • Different Servers for Linux and Windows users
  • Many tools are given to monitor statistics of the website
  • Unlimited Disk Space, Transfer Bandwidth and Email Accounts
  • 24/7 Live Chat Support is available for customers
  • They allow free domain transfer
  • They have high uptime rate of 99.99%
  • Application Hosting and Green Web Hosting

Pros

  1. Affordable Plans
  2. Unlimited Domains for Linux Users
  3. Unlimited Freebies
  4. Great Customization
  5. High Uptime

Cons

  1. Limitation of Domains for Windows Users
  2. Complex cPanel

Cloud Hosting Rating

8.5/10


Price: $6.26/mo*

Visit HostGator

It is a general fact that Cloud Hosting services provide faster resources to clients. One would choose Cloud Hosting to increase the security of the website. Though, Shared Hosting plans of HostGator are impressive. Comparatively, Cloud Hosting plans still have the edge over Shared Hosting plans. One of the primary reasons why Cloud Hosting is always better than Shared Hosting is because of Data Mirroring. Cloud Hosting services of HostGator automatically distribute three mirrored copies of website data across multiple servers. Security of the site is highly increased due to this action.

Any failover will lead to switching to data from one server to another guaranteeing zero downtime. Cloud Hosting services are known for speed. Speed is increased due to caching configuration. Cloud Hosting services by HostGator use the similar caching formula to enhance the speed of the website. All the resources are carefully monitored, and the performance of each part of the site can be analysed through the dashboard provided by HostGator.

Unmetered Bandwidth and Unlimited Domains are salient features of higher end plans of HostGator Cloud Hosting services. However, the single domain in the initial plan is still a major concern. Opting for more top end plan is most preferable. Check out the plans:

Why Should You Opt for HostGator Cloud Hosting Services?

  • It supports free website transfer
  • It has high scalability
  • Addition of servers enhanced security of the website
  • Their caching formula makes the site relatively faster compared to Shared Hosting
  • 24/7 Live Chat Support is available for customers
  • Their premium plans have Unmetered Bandwidth and Unlimited Domains
  • Website data is mirrored across three servers to increase its security

Pros

  1. High Speed
  2. Many Unlimited Features
  3. Free Website Migration
  4. Scalability
  5. High Security

Cons

  1. Costly

Dedicated Hosting Rating

8/10


Price: $79.00/mo*

Visit HostGator

Similar to Shared Hosting services provided by HostGator, plans are divided for Linux and Windows users in Dedicated Hosting Services as well. You may notice many similarities between these two plans. Dedicated server features remain same for the users of both operation systems. You have full access to the Dedicated server. The customer can control their server as per requirement.

HostGator Dedicated Hosting Services for Windows guarantees high performance. Hardware specifications are configured beforehand to avoid any complexity. Images are stored in OpenStack. Also, the servers are preloaded as well to add some star points in the ease of use section. A team of experts monitors data regularly. In the case of any issue, experts act quickly and clear it to avoid downtime.

Having various email features and customization perks make HostGator a preferable choice over others. A dashboard covers all the minor details of the website. HostGator Dedicated Hosting Plans are on the higher side and have incredibly high features. Check out the plans for Windows users:

HostGator Dedicated Hosting Services for Linux is high on the technical side. A user gets full root access over their designated Dedicated server. The latest WHM control panel is highly beneficial for having smooth control over server settings, services and accounts. These servers support many programming languages as well as give customers a chance to explore unlimited MySQL databases.

Many tools of Shared and Cloud Hosting services are available in Dedicated Hosting service. The only change here is that the customer has full access to control servers. The features are on the high side, and so is the price. Check out the plans for Linux users:

 

Why Should You Opt for HostGator Dedicated Hosting Services?

  • Different Servers for Linux and Windows users
  • Customer gets full root access to control server of the website
  • Experts monitor the working of the site regularly
  • Hardware specification is pre-configured to avoid any complexity
  • Users can explore unlimited MySQL databases
  • Dedicated servers support many programming languages
  • 24/7 Live Chat Support is available for customers

Pros

  1. High Customization
  2. High Speed
  3. Expert Support
  4. Full Root Access
  5. cPanel support

Cons

  1. Costly
  2. Complex Tools

VPS Hosting Rating

8/10


Price: $11.97/mo*

Visit HostGator

This is an alternative for users who want to gain benefits of Dedicated Hosting services at a moderate price. Virtual Private Servers provided by HostGator are highly customizable. Features of VPS include free cPanel with WHC control panel. Customers get access to CentOS Linux with full root access. Also, the security is enhanced. Applications can be installed and customised anytime as per need. These servers support MySQL, PHP, Perl, Roby, Python and FFMpeg. A firewall protects the website from any attacks.

Cutting Edge Hardware consisting of Dell Rack servers and customised hardware specs is used to enhance the performance of the site. It advertises Top of the Line network with relatively faster connections and bandwidth providers to improve the experience of customers. Flexible Software Options combined with highly customizable features act in the favour HostGator VPS Hosting services.

HostGator VPS Hosting Plans has variable features in each plan. There are many plans divided as per centre location the website. Check out the plans:

Why Should You Opt for HostGator VPS Hosting Services?

  • 24/7 Live Chat Support is available for customers
  • VPS servers supports many programming languages
  • Customer gets full root access to control server of the website
  • They have flexible software options
  • They provide faster connections to the website

Pros

  1. Less Expensive Compared To Dedicated Servers
  2. High Customization
  3. High Speed
  4. 24/7 Support

Cons

  1. More Expensive Compared To Shared Hosting
9

Reliability

HostGator have been in the web Hosting sector for a long time. You can rely on their system to provide you with the best any web Hosting can offer. The live chat option also acts for HostGator as you can have a chat with one of their employees anytime you want. This gives assurance to customers and motivates them to perform better. The 45-day money back policy guarantees their reliability.
8.5

Uptime

HostGator guarantees an impressive 99.9% uptime rate. HostGator initially improves the speed of the website and prevents downtime. Their customer support can quickly remove any issue within minutes. Thus, the uptime rate of HostGator is high and satisfying.
8

Support

As it is mentioned in many parts of the review, HostGator’s customer support is incredible. The live chat option enables the client to talk with an expert 24/7. Customers can seek out issues concerning the website anytime they want. However, in some cases delays were experienced which degrades the quality of customer support. Though, these delays are minimal. You can call or mail details regarding the issue to them. They are quick to respond. Thus, problems are solved quickly, and downtime is prevented.
8.5

Pricing

HostGators pricing is in the standard section. Many other Hosting services have expensive plans whereas some have cheaper plans compared to HostGator. However, excellent customer service, as well as features offered in each plan, increases the credibility of HostGator. Also, you can always use our coupons for getting unbelievable discounts on each plan of HostGator Web Hosting Services
9

Features

HostGator offers a lot of free features to users with each plan. It’s quite righteous to say that each plan of HostGator is a value for money plan. Also, their excellent customer support guarantees high uptime. HostGator provides latest cPanel functions to users. Their personal file manager keeps the junk and important files in proper sections. This file manager is web-based and is most useful for efficient storage of data. Customers can install WordPress, Joomla and Magento with one click. In a nutshell, HostGator web Hosting services are entirely worth it.

About HostGator

HostGator is one of the oldest web Hosting services in the world currently. It was founded in 2002 by Brent Oxley.HostGator. HostGator became an instant favourite and won numerous awards during its initial course. It has been trusted by bloggers around the world. HostGator provides a large variety of Hosting services. These services include Shared, Cloud, Dedicated, VPS and Wordpress Hosting. It has a fantastic track record of being dependable for its unmatched support to clients. The web Hosting company was sold to EIG in 2012 for a staggering amount of $225 million USD. It had a record of Hosting close to 9 million domains till 2013. The deal further increased the functionality of HostGator. As of now, HostGator works under similar principles. It is Hosting a much bigger number of websites as of now. HostGator aims to improve their services day by day. The founders are inclined towards enhancing the experience of clients instead of winning awards. Their intent to satisfy every need of the customer and help them set up a better web environment.

HostGator Review Badge